creative improvisation
performance art
image projection

The Doukipudonktian
Sudden Empire of Tears is a new collection of acousmatic electro-acoustic works, available as .mp3/.flac download or CD in deluxe box filled with art works from Bandcamp. Certain doxes also contain a bonus CD, ANTI-JAZZ.   eliminal CD by the Unpopular Scientists (Reed Altemus and Josh Ronsen) (Fluxus Montanta); prepared guitar duos performed live in Boston and Lowell, MA, May 2013
The Doukipudonktian
The Doukipudonktian is a new electronic work, available as .mp3 on Bremsstrahlung Recordings. Features Josh Ronsen and Vanessa Arn.   The CD i manage to get out by a secret door was published by eh? / Public Eyesore records. Features creative improvisation contributions from Jason Pierce, Jacob Green, Genevieve Walsh and Glen Nuckolls and electro-acoustic works by Josh Ronsen. Cover photo by Josh Russell.

split CD with Fred Lonberg-Holm available from Cohort Records — listen to samples. Features a quartet improvisation from Jacob Green (oboe, organ, percussion, electronics), Genevieve Walsh (flute, drums, vocal), Glen Nuckolls (electric guitar, banjo, violin) and Josh Ronsen (electric guitar, clarinet).


we used to be such good friends CD (hushroom records), features contributions from Bill Thompson, Jacob Green, Vanessa Arn, Glen Nuckolls and Genevieve Walsh. Cover photo by Seth Tisue.

Available from: End of an Ear (Austin), Eclipse (USA), Beta-lactam Ring (USA), (Netherlands), .ANGLE.REC. (Canada), Con-V (Spain)

untitled on RRR-500 Locked Groove LP (RRRecords) — viola solo   “for Gerard Klauder” on lowercase 2CD (Bremsstrahlung Recordings) — computer processed prepared guitar
untitled on Phantom Train CD (Úditions Suicide Commercial) — electronic music   “for Michael Northam” on Rendering of the Veil CD (Beta-Lactam Records) [listed as brekekexkoaxkoax for legal reasons] — computer processed bowed cymbal
  “Distinguished Gentleman in Chicago” on USA/USB CD (Shadow Puppet Recording Company) [listed as Brekekexkoaxkoax for legal reasons] — prepared guitar with Jason Pierce (drums)
tape piece #1 in Fluxlist Box 1   “Storage Shed” on 1 CD (phonography) — location recording
“Scion” on Tensile CD (Labile Music) — acoustic prepared guitar   “Arksheer” on Grain CD (Dot Dot Dot) — electro-acoustic music
“a.Lift” on Fluxations CD (XEXOXIAL EDITIONS) — electronic music   2 pieces on Intersect 3 CD (Pale Disc) — live solo prepared guitar and bowed bass guitar
“goats” on Quiet American website — field recording   “Sof Olam” on Ten Below CD (Petite Sono) — electronic music
sample material on Nevermet Ensemble CD (Rudimentol Records) — clarinet, electronics   sample material on Grapple with Inertia Systems CD by Masters of the Ungentlemanly Art
“magyar rakevet tatyamee” on 6 CD (phonography) — field recording   “ma’vet o’lam (Asiyah)” [label remix] on The Last Signal CD (Independent Opposition)
“for Christian Wolff” on Fluxus Anthology 2005 CD   “Zahav M’mutsah” on Golden Mean CD (Bremsstrahlung Recordings) — electronic music
“Zamzem” on Countdown 2012 CD-R (Invasion)   “Paper May Say” on 1 Minute Autohypnosis Sex War Noise Faith CDR (Mute Sound) — electro-acoustic music
“Bombalobombax” on Node Pajomo Summer 2012 CD (Node Pajomo zine)   “Aspidochelone” & “Rumor Narcosis Factor” on One Minute ((CT) Collective) online compilation
“Nephelokokkygia” on Austin Noise 2013 CD (Instincto Records) CD compilation   “Tender Dirt, On the Floor” on Austin Noise 2014 (Instincto Records) CD compilation
“Kokopelmana” on Master Cactus Issue #3 (Master Cactus) CS compilation   “Galaktoboureko” on Austin Noise 2015 (Instincto Records) CD/CS compilation
Josh Ronsen also appears on the following recordings:
  •  Geosynclines CD w/ ERG, MSBR & DSM (Flenix) [now available at Public Eyesore]
  •  Original CD by Steev Hise (illegal art)
  •  Music for the Same 50 People CD by the Abrasion Ensemble (Beta-Lactam Records) [reissued as Music for the Same 500 People]
  •  From Cloud to Seed LP by Seth Nehil (Alluvial Recordings)
  •  Rehearsal CD by the Gates Ensemble (Spectral House)
  •  Intersect 4 comp CD by Frequency Curtain (Pale Disc)
  •  Frequency Curtain CD by Frequency Curtain (Elevator Bath)
  •  Stria CD by Seth Nehil/jgrzinich (Erewhon)
  •  Confluence CD by jgrzinich/Seth Nehil (Intransitive Recordings)
  •  3 October 2003 CD by the Gates Ensemble (Spectral House)
  • eliminal CD by the Unpopular Scientists (Reed Altemus and Josh Ronsen) (Fluxus Montanta)
  • Auscultation CD by Jeph Jerman and the Austin New Music Co-op ()
“There’s a place for abstract and there’s a place for noise and there’s a place for every kind of sound so come on now and tell me why there’s a void.”
—Felt, “Ballad of the Band”